• Cart is Empty


Game On!
The one saying that is heard ever so often is "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy". What makes sports even more interesting is when an element of competition and challenge is added to them. With the Asian Games coming to an end, we take a look at other major sporting tournaments that are held globally, and should be followed regularly.
Dec 03, 2018 at 08:43

Everyone's eyes were glued to the Asian Games which were held in the month of September. Besides the most popularly known sporting events, let's get to know about other tournaments which are equally important and help in building the spirit of sportsmanship.


BADMINTON WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP (BWF): This championship is governed by the Badminton World Federation (BWF), Kuala Lumpur. The tournament for this game is held annually and can be divided into various categories such as:


1.       Men and Women Singles

2.       Men and Women Doubles

3.       Mixed Doubles

The interesting fact about this championship is that the winners of this tournament take home medals and there is no cash reward. Besides the Badminton World Championship, the game of badminton is also played at the Olympics, Paralympics and the Commonwealth Games. Some of the famous Indian badminton players are Saina Nehwal, P.V Sindhu and Prakash Padukone.


WORLD BOXING CHAMPIONSHIP:  The World Boxing Championship is organized by the International Boxing Association (AIBA). Boxing is a sport of fighting with fists also known as pugilism. It is a combat sport which is used for self defense. Earlier this sport was a prizefighting game and it was included in the Olympics in 1904. Women boxing was only included in the championship from the year 2012. This championship is held every two years. Categories in this championship are classified differently for men and women, on the basis of the weight of the opponent. Some of the categories are:


1.       Light flyweight

2.       Lightweight

3.       Middleweight

4.       Super Heavyweight

Boxing as a sport is included in other sports tournaments such as the Olympics and Commonwealth games. Some of the foremost Indian boxers are Mary Kom, Vijender Singh and Akhil Kumar.


HOCKEY WORLD CUP: The Hockey World Cup was founded in the year 1924 by Frenchman, Paul Leautey and is organized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH). The Hockey World Cup consists of  a qualification stage and a final tournament stage. In the year 1927, the Women's Hockey World Cup was developed under the banner of International Federation of Women's Hockey Association (IFWHA). Then in the year 1982, both FIH and IFWHA came together. This World Cup is held every 4 years. India has been able to win the Hockey World Cup just once in the year 1975. Some of famous hockey players from India include Dhyan Chand, Rani Rampal and Sardar Singh.

WORLD TABLE TENNIS CHAMPIONSHIP:  The World Table Tennis championships are held every even numbered year. It majorly consists of different categories which are:


1.       Men and Women's singles

2.       Men Doubles

3.       Mixed Doubles


The trophy presented to the winners of this tournament are rotational trophies. Whenever there is  a new winner, the trophy is handed over from the previous winner to the new winner. Some of the famous Indian table tennis players are Manika Batra and Sathiyan Gnanasekaran.

Besides these International Tournaments which showcase just one sport, there are various multisports events organized as well. Some of the popular ones are: The Olympics, Paralympic Games and the Commonwealth Games.


TENNIS GRAND SLAMS:  The game of tennis has significant national and regional tournaments that are held. It consists of 4 major tennis events. The term grand slam was first used in 1933 by a journalist, John Kieran who used the term to describe the win by Jack Crawford, who won all the four titles in the same year. The four Grand Slam titles are:

1.       Australian Open

2.       French Open

3.       Wimbledon

4.       US Open

A player wins the Grand Slam title if they are able to win all the 4 titles in the same calendar year. Mahesh Bhupati is the only Indian to have won this title in the doubles team in 1997.

It's  good to be a sports enthusiast who follows sports and with this information  go ahead and follow these sports tournaments that are till date less explored!

Imagine living in a world devoid of rainfall!